It was our intention, when we designed Small Business Community Network (SBCN), to make it easy to share information with your business partners and businesses around you. We understand you may not want everyone to have the information you share on SBCN; that is why we give you control of your information.
The Information We Collect
When you visit SBCN you provide us with two types of information: personal information you knowingly choose to disclose that is collected by us and Website use information collected by us as you interact with our Website.
When you register with SBCN, you provide us with certain personal information, such as your name, your email address, your telephone number, your address and any other personal or preference information that you provide to us.
When you enter SBCN, we collect your browser type and IP address. This information is gathered for all SBCN visitors. In addition, we store certain information from your browser using “cookies.” A cookie is a piece of data stored on the user’s computer tied to information about the user. We use session ID cookies to confirm that users are logged in. These cookies terminate once the user closes the browser. By default, we use a persistent cookie that stores your login ID (but not your password) to make it easier for you to login when you come back to SBCN. You can remove or block this cookie using the settings in your browser if you want to disable this convenience feature.
When you use SBCN, you may set up your personal Profile, send messages, perform searches and queries and transmit information through various channels. We collect this information so that we can provide you the service and offer personalised features. In most cases, we retain it so that, for instance, you can return to view prior messages you have sent or easily see your friend list. When you update information, we usually keep a backup copy of the prior version for a reasonable period of time to enable reversion to the prior version of that information.
You post User Content (as defined in the T’s & C’s) on the Site at your own risk. Please be aware that no security measures are perfect or impenetrable. We cannot control the actions of other Users with whom you may choose to share your pages and information. Therefore, we cannot and do not guarantee that User Content you post on the Site will not be viewed by unauthorised persons. We are not responsible for circumvention of any privacy settings or security measures contained on the Site. You understand and acknowledge that, even after removal, copies of User Content may remain viewable in cached and archived pages or if other Users have copied or stored your User Content.
If you choose to use our invitation service to tell a friend about our site, we will ask you for information needed to send the invitation, such as your friend’s email address. We will send your friend an email or instant message in your name inviting him or her to visit the site and may send up to two reminders to them. SBCN stores this information to send invitations and reminders and will be to your benefit if your invitation is accepted.
SBCN may also collect information about you from other sources in order to provide you with more useful information and a more personalised experience.
Use of Information Obtained by SBCN
When you register with SBCN, you create your own profile. We may occasionally use your name and email address to send you notifications regarding new services that we think you may find valuable.
SBCN may send you service-related announcements from time to time through the general operation of the service. For instance, if a someone sends you a new message, you may receive an email alerting you to that fact.
Third Party Advertising
Changing or Removing Information
Access and control over most personal information on SBCN is readily available through the Profile editing tools. SBCN users may modify or delete any of their Profile information at any time by logging into their account. Information will be updated immediately. Individuals who wish to deactivate their SBCN account may do so at any time. Removed information may persist in backup copies for a reasonable period of time but will not be generally available to members of SBCN.
Where you make use of the communication features of the service to share information with other individuals on SBCN, however, (e.g. sending a personal message to another SBCN user) you generally cannot remove such communications.